Author Topic: Why being a disciplined trader MATTERS.  (Read 702 times)

PipMeHappy

Why being a disciplined trader MATTERS.
« on: February 25, 2022, 05:58:52 PM »
Hello everyone...

I confess to have given into bad habits recently... I did it in the two months before Christmas and then again in January: I held on to losing trades far longer than normal, based on my ideas about the asset I was trading.

When I switched to trading the S&P500 in September-October of last year, I was still 'feeling my way' and trying to figure out what differences there were with EUR/USD, which I had been trading for the summer of 2020 and for most of 2021.

I have now had a really good month, and I looked at my trades through MyFxBook to see what I am doing right. So, what is it that is working better now?

1) I am using STOPS;
2) I am trading a time-frame that works better on intra-day targets;
3) I am using a combination of indicators that gives me confidence in entering the market;
4) I am not taking trades on the hoof/ on impulse, and (like @Leebax  mentioned before) I take my time, patiently waiting;
5) I use ATR for targets, so they are not plucked out of thin air;
6) I avoid trading first thing on Monday or last thing on Friday, and I avoid trading late into the evening any day, focusing mainly
    on Tuesday to Thursday with maybe some trades on Monday on Friday if the market looks motivated.

Since my disastrous January, I buckled down and had fourteen trades, again less trades but with better results:
10 were winners, and 4 losers, but the most important thing is that the losers were much smaller overall than the winners.

My monthly gain, as a result, is 57%, which is a good reward for staying disciplined, not overtrading, etc.

How did I come up with my strategy?

I looked back over many weeks and months to see how the indicators I chose gave signals for longs/shorts, and when