Author Topic: So, you want to work as a trader?  (Read 737 times)

PipMeHappy

So, you want to work as a trader?
« on: December 18, 2021, 10:06:07 PM »
Here is an advert for a job (Trader) for the
investment bank Citi, which came out today.

The screenshot gives you a small
summary of the vacancy requirements:
personally, as a retail trader, I know I
am looking at an alien language
and all my experience counts for nothing.

What these people's/the industry's
definition of 'trader' is,  and what an
independent retail trader might actually be,
can be very different things...

https://www.glassdoor.co.uk/job-listing/xva-trader-citi-JV_IC2671300_KO0,10_KE11,15.htm?jl=1007515587278&utm_source=jobalert&utm_medium=email&utm_content=ja-jobpos3-1007515587278&utm_campaign=jobAlertAlert&pos=103&ao=1136043&s=224&guid=0000017dcf7b3588b1b8bd4c4b213707&src=GD_JOB_AD&t=JA&vt=e&uido=0A2A5FC36EC2C86818D82CB9F6FDB549&cs=1_40a18143&cb=1639863498319&jobListingId=1007515587278&jrtk=3-0-1fn7nmde7u3jp801-1fn7nmdf33oft000-63d7b5c56a73f9db-&ja=157471909&ctt=1639864781274&srs=EMAIL_JOB_ALERT&gdir=1

Kaitsu

Re: So, you want to work as a trader?
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2021, 12:06:39 PM »
What these people's/the industry's
definition of 'trader' is,  and what an independent retail trader might actually be, can be very different things...

Yes, indeed! And it also depends on what type of institution one is referring to. E.g. Investment banks, commercial banks, pension funds, etc.